We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.


The Block Grant Partnerships (BGPs) were awards made to Research Organisations (ROs) for an allocation of postgraduate studentships in specific subject areas and schemes, at Masters or Doctoral level. The allocations were for five cohorts of students, commencing with students beginning their postgraduate study in the 2009-10 academic year.

The studentship places were advertised and students selected by the RO through open competition on an annual basis. The AHRC played no part in the assessment and selection of students.

In September 2014, ROs holding BGP and BGP:CB awards were asked to complete a report, to enable the AHRC to gauge the effectiveness of the funding model over the lifetime of the awards. The report questions addressed issues around the strategy and management of the awards and the experiences of collaborative working. The impressive breadth and variety of impacts arising from this funding were apparent in every report received from award-holders, and the AHRC greatly appreciates the efforts of all those working in ROs who have helped make BGP 1 such a notable success over the past five years. AHRC Block Grant Partnership Scheme Monitoring Report 2014–15 (PDF, 2MB)

Block Grant Partnership (BGP): List of Awards

Organisations in this list will have been awarded a number of studentships by subject, year and scheme. They will run their own recruitment and selection process in order to nominate named students to AHRC for these places.

  • University of Aberdeen
  • Aberystwyth University
  • University of Bath
  • Birkbeck College
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • Cardiff University
  • Birmingham City University
  • City University
  • Courtauld Institute of Art
  • University of Durham
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Essex
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • Goldsmiths
  • University of Kent at Canterbury
  • King’s College London
  • Lancaster University
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Liverpool
  • London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Loughborough University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Northumbria University and University of Sunderland
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • The Queen’s University of Belfast
  • University of Reading
  • Royal Academy of Music
  • Royal College of Music
  • Royal Holloway, University of London
  • School of Advanced Study, University of London
  • School of Oriental and African Studies
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Southampton
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Sussex
  • University College London
  • University of the Arts London
  • University of Warwick
  • University of York