Centres for Doctoral Training

Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs) are block grants made to consortia of Research Organisations (ROs), providing funding for five cohorts of students. They complement the Doctoral Training Partnership Scheme, and provide further capacity for postgraduate funding in priority areas: Design, Modern Languages and Heritage.  The AHRC also supports the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Media and Arts Technology at Queen Mary, University of London.

The studentship places will be advertised by the CDT on an annual basis, and studentship will be awarded in open competition. The AHRC plays no part in the assessment and selection of students. If you are a student, please contact the CDT directly to find out about their selection process.

List of contacts for all DTP and CDT consortia (Excel, 59KB). Please note that this is not a comprehensive list of all partners involved in the consortia.

Any amendments to the list should be emailed to the DTP enquiries inbox: dtp@ahrc.ukri.org.

Current CDTs

Click any CDT logo to visit their website.

Visit ldoc-cdt.ac.uk

London Doctoral Design Consortium (LDOC)

Led by the Royal College of Art in collaboration with Kingston University and University of the Arts London in partnership with:

  • Aedas
  • British Fashion Council
  • BT
  • London Borough of Camden Communities Division
  • Camira
  • Creativeworks London
  • Design Council
  • Designing Out Crime Association
  • Ford Motor Company
  • Ian Ritchie Architects Limited
  • International Flavours and Fragrances
  • Microsoft Research
  • Sense
  • Sorrell Foundation
  • Textile Institute
  • Topshop
  • TfL
  • United Nations/UNCTAD Responsible Ecosystems Sourcing Platform
  • V&A

Visit northumbria-sunderland-cdt.northumbria.ac.uk

Northumbria-Sunderland Consortium

Led by the University of Northumbria in collaboration with The University of Sunderland with:

  • BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art
  • National Glass Centre

Visit 3d3research.co.uk/information/react/


Led by University of the West of England in collaboration with Plymouth University and Falmouth University in partnership with:


Visit www.designstar.org.uk

Design Star

Led by University of Reading in collaboration with Loughborough, The Open University, Brighton and Goldsmiths in partnership with:

  • West Berkshire Primary Care Trust
  • Milton Keynes Council
  • Policy Connect
  • Spy Design
  • Maybourne Projects Ltd
  • V&A
  • Design Museum
  • Monotype
  • Intel Labs
  • Microsoft Research

Visit www.gla.ac.uk/colleges/arts/graduateschool/fundingopportunities/ahrccentrefordoctoraltrainingincelticlanguages/

AHRC Doctoral Programme in Celtic Languages

Led by University of Glasgow in collaboration with Bangor University, The Queen’s University of Belfast , Swansea University, University of Aberdeen, University of Cambridge, University of Edinburgh, University of Oxford, University of the Highlands and Islands, University of Ulster, Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies, University of Wales and University of Wales Trinity St David in partnership with:

  • National Library of Wales
  • BBC Northern Ireland
  • Bòrd na Gàidhlig

Visit www.ceelbas-cdt.ac.uk


The Centre for East European Language-Based Area Studies Consortium is led by University College London in collaboration with University of Cambridge, The University of Manchester and  University of Oxford in partnership with:

  • The Foreign & Commonwealth Office
  • OpenDemocracy
  • British Library
  • Pushkin House

Visit www.XXXXX

BGP2 Heritage Consortium

Led by University of Hull in collaboration with University of Bradford, University of Huddersfield, Leeds Metropolitan University, Northumbria University, Sheffield Hallam University and Teeside University in partnership with:

  • Iziko Museums South Africa
  • Heritage Lottery Fund
  • National Coal Mining Museum
  • Yorkshire Film Archive
  • Prussian Palaces and Gardens Foundation (SPSG)
  • North Sea Maritime Museum Network
  • National Maritime Museum
  • International Slavery Museum