We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Winners of the Research in Film Awards 2016

Date: 10/11/2016

The winners were announced this evening, at a special ceremony at the home of british film, BAFTA.

Hundreds of films were submitted for the Awards in five categories. A panel of expert judges helped to decide the shortlisted films and the overall winner in each category.

Jan Dalley, Art Editor at the Financial Times and Chair of the Judging Panel, said:

"The second year of AHRC's Research in Film Awards has brought a fantastic range of powerful short documentary films of the highest quality and the judges had a really tough job to make their choices. Each of the winning films, which tell such amazing stories so well, beautifully illustrate the power of film-making as a medium to capture the importance and impact of research."

You can join the conversation about the films on twitter via #RIFA2016.

We'll be announcing details of the 2017 Research in Film Awards in the spring of next year.

The Doctoral Award

The best film by an AHRC/AHRB-funded Doctoral Student

The Caterthuns

Kieran Baxter, University of Dundee

Innovation Award

Prize for innovation in film-making

Village Tales

Sue Sudbury, Bournemouth University

The Utopia Award

Imagining our future

Wonderland: the art of becoming human

Amanda Ravetz, Manchester Metropolitan University

Inspiration Award

The best film inspired by Arts and Humanities Research

AWA: Zimbabwe's Rap Queen

Max Thurlow

Best Research Film in the last Year

You Can't Move History

Pollyanna Ruiz, University of Sussex


For further press information and images please contact:
Arts and Humanities Research Council, on 07590 463751 or email m.collins@ahrc.ac.uk

Notes to editors

  1. The Arts and Humanities Research Council funds world-class, independent researchers in a wide range of subjects: history, archaeology, digital content, philosophy, languages, design, heritage, area studies, the creative and performing arts, and much more. This financial year the AHRC will spend approximately £98 million to fund research and postgraduate training in collaboration with a number of partners. The quality and range of research supported by this investment of public funds not only provides social and cultural benefits and contributes to the economic success of the UK but also to the culture and welfare of societies around the globe. For more information visit: www.ahrc.ac.uk or follow @ahrcpress on twitter.
  2. The Judging panel consists of the following film industry and academic experts:
    • Jan Dalley, Culture Editor of the Financial Times and AHRC Council member
    • Danny Leigh, Writer, broadcaster and presenter
    • Matthew Reisz, Times Higher Education
    • Professor Tom Inns, Director of Glasgow School of Art
    • Anthony Lilley, CEO, Magic Lantern Productions
    • Joanna Callaghan, University of Sussex
    • Professor Rajinder Dudrah, University of Birmingham
    • Professor Mark Jancovich, University of East Anglia
    • Professor Stella Bruzzi University of Warwick
    • Professor Lucy Mazdon University of Southampton
    • Dr Shohini Chaudhuri, University of Essex
    • Steve Evanson, TV producer
Return to news list