We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Sixth annual Research in Film Awards focuses on animation and climate change

Date: 30/04/2020

The Research in Film Awards return for their sixth year, introducing a new public category based on the link between arts and humanities research and the climate emergency.

Presented by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, the awards recognise the best short films either influenced by or directly linked to arts and humanities research. With five categories - two open to the general public and three aimed at the research community - the awards offer a unique opportunity to showcase emerging filmmaking talent while acknowledging the exceptional work of arts and humanities researchers.

Each year, the awards include a special category with a new contemporary theme. This year, the special category is themed around climate change, and will examine how the arts and humanities give us the tools, as individuals and as society at large, to understand environmental change, and to adapt and be resilient in the face of it. This special Best Climate Emergency Film category is open to the public, allowing anyone to enter films inspired by arts and humanities research that relates to the climate emergency.

For the first time, the awards will also include a new category: the Best Animated Film of the Year. This new category for 2020 recognises films that have creatively used animation to tell stories or explore ideas in arts and humanities research.

The full list of categories for 2020 is:

  • Best Research Film of the Year
  • Best Doctoral or Early Career Film of the Year
  • Best Climate Emergency Film (public category)
  • Best Animated Film of the Year
  • Inspiration Award (public category)

The films will be judged by a panel of academic and film industry experts. All nominees will be invited to an awards ceremony on Tuesday 10 November 2020 at the BFI Southbank, where the five winners will be announced. The Awards open for submissions on Thursday 30 April and close on Thursday 25 June 2020.

The Research in Film Awards present a fantastic opportunity for budding filmmakers to showcase their work to a wider audience, including those in the film industry, and are still the only awards dedicated entirely to films based on arts and humanities research.

Along with the awards themselves, the winner of each category will receive a trophy and £5,000 prize money to put towards their future filmmaking endeavours.

For further details on how to apply visit the Research in Film Awards 2020 call page.

For more information on the awards as well as details on previous winners please visit our Research in Film Awards homepage in the Innovation section of our website at ahrc.ukri.org/rifa.


Tom Forest at the AHRC: tom.forest@ahrc.ukri.org; 01793 416102 / 07591 948807

About the AHRC

The Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) is part of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). We’re the UK’s largest funder of arts and humanities research and training, investing over £100 million every year.

We fund independent researchers in a wide range of subjects, including history, archaeology, digital content, philosophy, languages, design, heritage, area studies, the creative and performing arts, and many more.

The research we fund provides social and cultural and benefits that contribute to the economic success of the UK, as well as to the culture and welfare of societies around the world.

Visit us at: ahrc.ukri.org, on Twitter at @ahrcpress, on Facebook at Arts and Humanities Research Council, or Instagram at @ahrcpress.

Return to news list