We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

New judges announced for the 2018 Research in Film Awards

The judges have been announced for the 2018 Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Research in Film Awards.

The panel will be made up of 15 academic and film industry experts – including eight new faces this year – and will be chaired by Jan Dalley, Arts Editor at the Financial Times.

New judges this year include Dorothy Byrne, Head of News & Current Affairs at Channel 4 News, Steve Harding-Hill, Creative Director in Commercials and Short Form at Aardman, and Catherine Mallyon, AHRC Council and Executive Director of the Royal Shakespeare Company.

The Awards are designed to recognise the best short films that are either influenced or directly linked to arts and humanities research.

Lindsay Mackie, judge and co-founder of The Film Club, says: “The AHRC Film Awards are a brilliant way of making visible (literally!) themes and stories which are integral to all research in arts and humanities.

“Filmmakers are given a lot of interpretative freedom in these Awards so I'm really looking forward to having as good a time watching the work as I did last year when I judged the Awards for the first time.

With five categories - including four aimed at the research community and one open to the general public - the awards offer a unique opportunity to showcase emerging filmmaking talent while acknowledging the world-leading work of arts and humanities researchers and practitioners.

“I'll be particularly interested in the category of People on The Move, since migration and refugee creation is really the number one global phenomenon right now,” says Mackie.

All nominees will be invited to an awards ceremony on Thursday 8 November at the home of BAFTA (195 Piccadilly, London), where the five winners will be announced.

The winner of each category will also receive a trophy and £2,000 prize money to put towards their future filmmaking endeavours.

This year’s awards include two new categories: one that demonstrates the ongoing research on migration (The People on the Move Award), while the other highlights the incredible engagement work being done using new interactive platforms (The Social Media Short Award).

The AHRC Research in Film Awards judging panel in full:

  1. Jan Dalley, Arts Editor of the Financial Times
  2. Matthew Reisz, Books Editor, Times Higher Education
  3. Professor Lucy Mazdon, Head of Film, University of Southampton
  4. Steve Evanson, TV producer
  5. Richard Davidson-Houston, Head of All 4, Channel Four Television
  6. Lord Stevenson of Balmacara (Wilf Stevenson), Former Director of the British Film Institute
  7. Lindsay Mackie, co-founder of Film Club

New this year:

  1. Catherine Mallyon, AHRC Council and Executive Director of the Royal Shakespeare Company
  2. Islam Issa, AHRC New Generation Thinker 2017
  3. Joanna Norman, Director of the V&A Research Institute
  4. Steve Harding-Hill, Creative Director in Commercials and Short Form – Aardman
  5. John Rowe, Head of Digital Effects, National Film and Television School
  6. Professor David Hendy, Professor of Media and Cultural History (Media and Film), University of Sussex
  7. Dorothy Byrne, Head of News & Current Affairs, Channel 4 News
  8. Jemma Cole, Campaigns Officer (social media), Cardiff University

Related Content