We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Judges announced for the 2019 Research in Film Awards

Date: 16/07/2019

The judges have been announced for the 2019 Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Research in Film Awards (RIFA). The panel will be made up of 15 academic and film industry experts and will be chaired by Jan Dalley, Arts Editor at the Financial Times.

New judges this year include Shaminder Nahal, Commissioning Editor for Arts & Topical Specialist Factual for Channel 4, former deputy editor of Channel 4 News and Newsnight, writer and broadcaster Vivienne Parry, and filmmaker, BAFTA and previous RIFA winner Victoria Mapplebeck.

The Awards are designed to recognise the best short films that are either influenced or directly linked to arts and humanities research. Both researchers and the public can enter films for the Awards. The Awards have no entry fee and a £2,000 prize for each category.

Jan Dalley said: “I’m delighted to be chairing the judging panel for the Research in Film Awards 2019. RIFA has unearthed many highly original films, and I’m very excited to see what RIFA has in store this year.”

With five categories - including three aimed at the research community and two open to the general public - the awards offer a unique opportunity to showcase emerging filmmaking talent while acknowledging the world-leading work of arts and humanities researchers and practitioners.

This year’s awards include two public categories for the first time, including a special category that focuses on mental health and wellbeing, highlighting the vital contribution that arts and humanities research makes to this area of our lives.

Jan continued: “This year’s special ‘Mental Health and Wellbeing’ category promises to showcase some of the countless applications the arts and humanities have for our mental health, and share the important work being done in this area with a wider audience.”

All nominees will be invited to an awards ceremony on Tuesday 12 November at the BFI Southbank, where the five winners will be announced.

The winner of each category will also receive a trophy and £2,000 prize money to put towards their future filmmaking endeavours.


For further information and images please contact:

Tom Forest, Senior Public Engagement Manager at the AHRC,  tom.forest@ahrc.ukri.org / +44 (0) 1793 416102 / +44 (0) 7591 948807

The 2019 judges are:

Chair: Jan Dalley

Jan is Chair of the Judging Panel and Arts Editor of the Financial Times. Hear more from Jan in our feature AHRC Research in Film Awards 2017: What the Judges Think.

Peter Bazalgette

Peter is President of the Royal Television Society, Deputy Chairman of the National Film and Television School and Non-Executive Director of ITV, as well as a Non-Executive Board Member of UK Research and Innovation.

Steve Evanson

Steve is a TV Producer and well-known as Co-Creator and Series Editor of BBC Coast and author of the companion book Coast and Beyond.

Susannah Hall

Susannah is Heat of Arts at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust.

Steve Harding-Hill

Steve Harding-Hill is Creative Director in Commercials and Short Form for Aardman Animations.

Dr James Leggott

James is Lecturer in Film and Television at Northumbria University, and a member of the AHRC’s Peer Review College.

Kim Longinotto

Kim is an award-winning documentary film maker, director of Pink Saris, Sister in Law, and Gaea Girls, among others.

Catherine Mallyon

Catherine Mallyon is a member of the AHRC Council and Executive Director of the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Victoria Mapplebeck

Victoria is Reader in Digital Arts at Royal Holloway, University of London and winner of Best Social Media Short at the Research in Film Awards 2018.

Shaminder Nahal

Shaminder is Commissioning Editor for Arts & Topical Specialist Factual for Channel 4, and former deputy editor of Channel 4 News and Newsnight.

Vivienne Parry

Vivienne is a writer and a broadcaster, and a board member of UK Research and Innovation.

Anna Rawcliffe

Anna is Digital Marketing Manager for the National Trust.

John Rowe

John Rowe is Head of Digital Effects at the National Film and Television School.

Iain Smith

Iain is Lecturer in Film Studies at King’s College London, and an AHRC/BBC New Generation Thinker 2018.

Susie Thornberry

Susie Thornberry is Assistant Director of Public Engagement and Learning for Imperial War Museums.

Return to news list