We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Researchers Selected for AHRC/BBC Collaborative Workshop on Scottish Identity

Date: 18/04/2013

The researchers selected to participate in an AHRC/BBC workshop on Scottish identity were announced today. The AHRC issued a call in March inviting expressions of interest from researchers interested in taking part in an event that will help inform and influence BBC thinking around programming for 2014 when the planned referendum on Scottish independence will take place, as well as the XXth Commonwealth Games in Glasgow and the Glasgow 2014 Cultural Programme.

More than 100 expressions of interest were received from which the specially convened panel chose 15 researchers. They are:

Dr Marion Bowman: Open University

Lucinda Dean: PhD student, University of Stirling

Dr Frances Fowle: University of Edinburgh

Dr Kyle Hughes: Northumbria University

Dr Margery Palmer McCulloch: University of Glasgow

Professor Sally Mapstone: Oxford University

Stephen Millar (PhD student): Cambridge University

Dr Michael Morris: University of Glasgow

Dr Susan Rennie: University of Glasgow

Michael Shaw (PhD student): University of Glasgow

Dr Cassie Smith-Christmas: University of the Highlands and Islands

Professor Greg Walker: University of Edinburgh

Dr Claire Warden: University of Lincoln

Dr Gary West: University of Edinburgh

Professor Christopher Whatley: University of Dundee

The researchers represent a broad range of subjects, including Scottish history from early to modern, Scottish literature, religion, language and linguistics, the visual arts, music, architecture, drama, as well as a mix of researchers at different stages of their careers.

The workshop will take place in London on the 26th April.


Return to news list