We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

AHRC Research in Film Awards opens for submissions

Date: 22/04/2016

Following on from the successful 2015 Research in Film Awards, the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) is launching its 2016 Awards in a bid to find new and emerging talent that straddle the worlds of both film making and arts and humanities research.

The AHRC’s Research in Film Awards is designed to showcase, reward and recognise the best of the growing number of high-quality short films (defined as no longer than 30 minutes) linked to arts and humanities research. There is also the “Inspiration Award”, which is open to members of the public, looking for films that have been inspired by research in the arts and humanities.

Last year’s awards, the first for Research in Film, attracted nearly 200 entries across the five categories. The 25 shortlisted films featured research undertaken by 17 UK Universities and Research Organisations.

Films are produced in a great many ways through and as a result of research. They may be primary outputs, by-products, records of research undertaken, dissemination tools or practice-based research itself. They may include reconstructions and enactments, animations, installations and gallery pieces, games, interactive storytelling or co-produced work including collaborations with community groups, and may take the form of documentaries, visual essays or broadcast programmes. They may entail any of these, and much more besides.

The 2016 awards will be judged by panel of academics and film industry experts. Chair of the Judging Panel is confirmed as Jan Dalley, Arts Editor of the Financial Times and AHRC Council Member. Jan says, ‘Films are a really fresh and vivid way of thinking about research and telling people about research. Of all cultural forms, film is the one that most reflects the way we live and helps us understand the way we live now.’

Awards will be made, once again, in five categories (see below) and the winner in each category will win £2,000 towards their future film-making activities.

  1. Best Research Film of the Year
  2. Doctoral Award
  3. Utopia Award: Imagining our Future
  4. Innovation Award
  5. Inspiration Award - Best film inspired by the arts and humanities (public category)

To get a feel for the what the Research in Film Awards are all about, watch this short highlights film from the 2015 event.

Please see the call page for further information on how to apply.

For questions relating to your application please contact communications@ahrc.ac.uk or call 01793 416060.


For press information / images please contact: Michael Collins on 01793 416083 or email m.collins@ahrc.ac.uk

Notes to the editor:

The Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) funds world-class, independent researchers in a wide range of subjects: ancient history, modern dance, archaeology, digital content, philosophy, English literature, design, the creative and performing arts, and much more. This financial year the AHRC will spend approximately £98 million to fund research and postgraduate training in collaboration with a number of partners. The quality and range of research supported by this investment of public funds not only provides social and cultural benefits but also contributes to the economic success of the UK.

Return to news list