The Awards

The Awards Ceremony

The winners of the Research in Film Awards were announced at a special ceremony at BAFTA 195 Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End. This year’s awards took place on Thursday, 8 November 2018, where members of the press, along with academics, film industry professionals, not to mention the cast and crew behind the 25 shortlisted films were invited.

The ceremony is a prestigious affair and offers a chance for talented and emerging filmmakers to step into the limelight and get their work noticed by a wider audience. The winners of each category were presented with an award and received £2,000 prize money to put towards their future filmmaking endeavours.

Watch the streamed live version of the 2018 ceremony on YouTube (1 hour, 45 minutes) with reaction from the winning teams, hosted by writer and broadcaster Danny Leigh and featuring a fantastic line up of presenters including Chairman of ITV Sir Peter Bazalgette, award-winning filmmakers Roger Graef OBE and Kim Longinotto, TV presenter Sophie Morgan and Catherine Mallyon, Executive Director of the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Interviews with the 2018 winners

Best Research in Film Award went to Professor Stephen Andrew Linstead from the University of York, for his film 'Black Snow'. He says winning shines a spotlight on the Barnsley community, where in 1866 the Oaks Colliery exploded, claiming the lives of at least 361 men and boys.

Best Doctoral or Early Career Award went to Ilona Sagar from the Royal College of Art  for her film 'Correspondence O'. She says she's delighted to win and thanks all her supporters.

People on the Move Award was awarded to ‘To Be Here’ by Sam Jury from the University of Hertfordshire. The award was accepted by the Sound Designer of the film Rob Gobman. He says the recognition from AHRC is very important.

The inaugural Social Media Short Award was awarded to Victoria Mapplebeck from Royal Holloway, University of London. She says her winning film 'Missed Call' was filmed entirely on a smart phone and she had wanted to produce it for an online audience.

The winners of the Inspiration Award (public category) went to George Harris and Tom Diffenthal, who say they can't believe they have won for their film 'Give Me Today, Anytime'.