We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Meet the judges

Each year entries for the Research in Film Awards are judged by a prestigious panel of academics, film industry experts and sector leaders. Meet the 2020 panel below!

Best Research Film of the Year

  • Alice Roberts
    Professor of Public Engagement in Science, University of Birmingham, TV presenter and author
  • Hetan Shah
    Chief Executive of the British Academy, Visiting Professor at King's College London and Deputy Chair of the Ada Lovelace Institute
  • Paul Moore
    Director of Creative Industries Future Screens NI, Ulster University

Best Doctoral or Early Career Film of the Year

  • Victoria Mapplebeck, Royal Holloway
    Professor in Digital Arts at Royal Holloway, University of London, BAFTA award winning director, artist and writer
  • Ayesha Taylor-Camara
    AHRC-funded ‘TV PhD’ candidate, University of Nottingham
  • Shawn Sobers
    Associate Professor of Lens Media, University of West England

Best Climate Emergency Film

  • Craig Bennett
    Chief Executive, The Wildlife Trusts and former Director of Friends of the Earth
  • Rebecca Speight
    Chief Executive, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
  • Majed Akhter
    Lecturer in Environment & Society, King's College London and AHRC/BBC New Generation Thinker

Best Animated Film

  • Steve Harding-Hill
    Creative Director, Aardman Animation
  • Campbell Glennie
    Managing Director, Edinburgh TV Festival and The TV Foundation
  • Paul Manners
    Associate Professor and Director of Policy, National Co-ordinating Centre for Public Engagement

Inspiration Award

  • Doris Ruth Eikhof
    Professor of Cultural Economy & Policy, University of Glasgow
  • Sarah Churchwell
    Professor of American Literature and Public Understanding of the Humanities, University of London and Director of the Being Human Festival
  • Lucy Vernall
    Project Director, Academic Ideas Lab and former TV producer


Find out more about the categories and the awards ceremony