We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.


The AHRC Research in Film Awards is judged by a panel of senior academics, journalists and luminaries from the film industry. Each year they have to whittle down the entries to a shortlist of five films per category.

The judges look for high quality films which bring arts and humanities research to a wider audience, and assess each submission against the requirements of the chosen category.

The 2019 judges are:

Chair: Jan Dalley

Jan is Chair of the Judging Panel and Arts Editor of the Financial Times. Hear more from Jan in our feature AHRC Research in Film Awards 2017: What the Judges Think.

Peter Bazalgette

Peter is President of the Royal Television Society, Deputy Chairman of the National Film and Television School and Non-Executive Director of ITV, as well as a Non-Executive Board Member of UK Research and Innovation.

Steve Evanson

Steve is a TV Producer and well-known as Co-Creator and Series Editor of BBC Coast and author of the companion book Coast and Beyond.

Susannah Hall

Susannah is head of Arts at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust.

Steve Harding-Hill

Steve Harding-Hill is Creative Director in Commercials and Short Form for Aardman Animations.

Dr James Leggott

James is Lecturer in Film and Television at Northumbria University, and a member of the AHRC’s Peer Review College.

Kim Longinotto

Kim is an award-winning documentary film maker, director of Pink Saris, Sister in Law, and Gaea Girls, among others.

Catherine Mallyon

Catherine Mallyon is a member of the AHRC Council and Executive Director of the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Victoria Mapplebeck

Victoria is Reader in Digital Arts at Royal Holloway, University of London and winner of Best Social Media Short at the Research in Film Awards 2018.

Shaminder Nahal

Shaminder is Commissioning Editor for Arts & Topical Specialist Factual for Channel 4, and former deputy editor of Channel 4 News and Newsnight.

Vivienne Parry

Vivienne is a writer and a broadcaster, and a board member of UK Research and Innovation.

Anna Rawcliffe

Anna is Digital Marketing Manager for the National Trust.

John Rowe

John Rowe is Head of Digital Effects at the National Film and Television School.

Iain Smith

Iain is Lecturer in Film Studies at King’s College London, and an AHRC/BBC New Generation Thinker 2018.

Susie Thornberry

Susie Thornberry is Assistant Director of Public Engagement and Learning for Imperial War Museums