Please tell us about your experienceof this website today

Research in Film Awards

Research in Film Awards 2018


The AHRC Research in Film Awards (RIFA) is the only film awards dedicated to celebrating and recognising arts and humanities research through film.

With five different categories, including one open to the public, the awards showcase the best of the growing number of high-quality short films (defined as no longer than 30 minutes).

Over the past three years, the Awards have proved instrumental in helping to raise the profile of films which have been inspired or are directly linked to arts and humanities research. Some of the filmmakers have gone on to be nominated for other prestigious awards and festivals, while for others it has given them a platform to secure funding and receive national exposure in broadcast and print.

Judged by a panel of film industry experts and leading academics, the five winners are announced during a special awards ceremony at BAFTA 195 Piccadilly in November, where they each receive a trophy and £2,000 prize money.

There are two new categories for 2018: one that demonstrates the ongoing research on migration to commemorate the 70 years since the Empire Windrush docked at Tilbury - an iconic moment in migration history - while the other highlights the incredible engagement work being done on social media.


  • Best Research Film of the Year
  • Best Doctoral or Early Career Film
  • People on the Move Award: Stories of New Beginnings
  • Social Media Short Award
  • Inspiration Award (public category)

Latest news: Read our press release about the launch of our new 2018 competition.

Follow us on social media

Follow us on Twitter @ahrcpress and use the hashtag #RIFA2018 to let us know you've entered.