We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

The AHRC Research in Film Awards 2017


Following on from the successful 2016 Research in Film Awards, the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) is launching its 2017 Awards to find new and emerging talent that straddle the worlds of both filmmaking and arts and humanities research.

The AHRC’s Research in Film Awards is designed to showcase, reward and recognise the best of the growing number of high-quality short films (defined as no longer than 30 minutes) that are linked to arts and humanities research. For the third year running, there is also the “Inspiration Award” which is open to members of the public, provided their film has been inspired by research in the arts and humanities.

Films are produced in a great many ways through and as a result of research. They may be primary outputs, by-products, records of research undertaken, dissemination tools or practice-based research itself. They may include reconstructions and enactments, animations, installations and gallery pieces, games, interactive storytelling or co-produced work including collaborations with community groups, and may take the form of documentaries, visual essays or broadcast programmes. They may entail any of these, and much more besides.

These awards are designed to encourage, stimulate and recognise the considerable body of work created at the interface between research and film while recognising the world-leading work of researchers, practitioners and filmmakers in the arts and humanities research community.

Awards will be made in five categories and the winner of each category will win £2,000 to be invested in their future filmmaking activities. All applicants must accompany their submissions with supporting text which must detail how the film is directly linked or influenced by arts and humanities research.


  1. Best Research Film of the Year
  2. Best Doctoral or Early Career Film
  3. International Development Award: Mobilising Global Voices
  4. Innovation Award
  5. Inspiration Award (public category)
Category Award Title Eligibility Timeframe

3.1 Best Research Film of the Year

Standard eligibility (HEIs or IROs)

Since 01 April 2016

3.2 Doctoral Award or Early Career Film

AHRC Funded

Since 01 April 2016

3.3 International Development Award: Mobilising Global Voices

Standard eligibility (HEIs or IROs and community groups)

Since 01 April 2016

3.4 Innovation Award

Standard eligibility (HEIs or IROs)

Since 01 April 2016

3.5 Inspiration Award (public category)

Public category

Since 01 April 2016