We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

The AHRC Research in Film Awards 2016

The Research in Film Awards 2017 is now open for submissions

If you wish to submit an entry for the 2017 competition please follow the link.

Card image cap

Following on from the successful 2015 Research in Film Awards the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) is launching its 2016 Awards in a bid to find new and emerging talent that straddle the worlds of both film making and arts and humanities research.

The AHRC’s Research in Film Awards is designed to showcase, reward and recognise the best of the growing number of high-quality short films (defined as no longer than 30 minutes) linked to arts and humanities research. There is also the “Inspiration Award”, which is open to members of the public, looking for films that have been inspired by research in the arts and humanities.

Films are produced in a great many ways through and as a result of research. They may be primary outputs, by-products, records of research undertaken, dissemination tools or practice-based research itself. They may include reconstructions and enactments, animations, installations and gallery pieces, games, interactive storytelling or co-produced work including collaborations with community groups, and may take the form of documentaries, visual essays or broadcast programmes. They may entail any of these, and much more besides.

These awards are designed to encourage, stimulate and recognise the considerable body of work created at the interface between research and film and to recognise the world-leading work of researchers, practitioners and film-makers in the arts and humanities research community

Awards will be made in five categories (see below) and the winner in each category will win £2,000 to be invested in their future film-making activities. All applicants must accompany their film submissions with supporting text, which invites all entrants to make explicit their films’ links with arts and humanities research.


  1. Best Research Film of the Year
  2. Doctoral Award
  3. Utopia Award: Imagining our Future
  4. Innovation Award
  5. Inspiration Award (public category)

Category Award Title



3.1 Best Research Film of the Year

Standard eligibility (HEIs or IROs)

Since 01 April 2015

3.2 Doctoral Award

AHRC- or AHRB- funded only

Since 1998

3.3 Utopia Award: Imagining our Future

Standard eligibility (HEIs or IROs and community groups)

Since 01 April 2015

3.4 Innovation Award

Standard eligibility (HEIs or IROs)

Since 01 April 2015

3.5 Inspiration Award (public category)

Public category

Since 01 April 2015

For more information on these categories, please see the Research In Film 2016 Call document (PDF, 86KB)