We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

AHRC Council

The AHRC Council is responsible for the overall strategic direction and financial management of the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC). There are sixteen members of the AHRC Council, listed alphabetically below by first name. See also the Members of Council Registers of Interest (PDF, 429KB).

Dr Ayesha Siddiqi

Ayesha Siddiqi is a University Lecturer at the Department of Geography at University of Cambridge

17 December 2020
Monisha Shah

Monisha is a Board member for the Office for Students and a non-executive member of Ofcom's Content Board.
Term begins 1 April 2021.

3 December 2020
Zeinab Badawi

Zeinab is the current Chair of the Royal African Society.
Term begins 1 April 2021.

3 December 2020
Patricia Cumper

Patricia Cumper is an award-winning playwright who has written for theatre and radio for more than thirty years. 
Term begins 1 April 2021.

3 December 2020
Adrienne Scullion

Adrienne Scullion is a cultural historian with particular expertise in theatre and drama in Scotland.
Term begins 1 April 2021.

Professor Christopher Smith

Professor Christopher Smith is the Executive Chair of the Arts and Humanities Research Council

27 July 2020
Professor Ambreena Manji

Professor Ambreena Manji is the Professor of Land Law and Development at Cardiff University

Professor Anthony Lilley

Professor Anthony Lilley is the CEO & Chief Creative Officer of Magic Lantern Productions Ltd and Professor of Creative Industries at Ulster University

Professor Chris Wickham

Professor Chris Wickham is the Chichele Professor of Medieval History emeritus at the University of Oxford and is Professor of Medieval History at the University of Birmingham

Professor Fiona Macpherson

Professor Fiona Macpherson is Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Centre for the Study of Perceptual Experience at the University of Glasgow

Professor Dame Janet Beer

Professor Dame Janet Beer is the Vice Chancellor of the University of Liverpool

Dame Judith Macgregor

Dame Judith Macgregor DCMG LVO is former British High Commissioner to South Africa, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Professor Hagan Bayley

Professor Hagan Bayley is Professor of Chemical Biology at the University of Oxford

Professor Tom Rodden

Professor Tom Rodden has been appointed as the Chief Scientific Adviser for the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, and begins this role in January 2019.