We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Advisory Board

The AHRC Advisory Board provides advice to the AHRC and its Council on strategies for research, innovation, training, knowledge transfer, impact, evaluation, and international engagement that reflect AHRC’s vision and remit and the most important national, European and global needs and challenges facing arts and humanities research. The Advisory Board is chaired by a member of AHRC Council, and its membership comprises academics and representatives from non-HEI research communities.

Please contact the Secretary to the Advisory Board with any queries: governance@ahrc.ukri.org.


Chair: Professor Chris Wickham, Emeritus Professor, University of Birmingham and University of Oxford

Professor Helen Abbott, Professor of Modern Languages and Head of School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music, University of Birmingham

Professor Dana Arnold, Professor of Art History, University of East Anglia

Professor Diamond Ashiagbor, Professor of Law and Director of Postgraduate Research, University of Kent

Mr Christopher Baker, Director European and Scottish Art and Portraiture, National Galleries of Scotland

Professor Kirsti Bohata, Professor of English Literature, Swansea University

Dr Gavin Brookes, Senior Research Fellow in Corpus Linguistics, Lancaster University

Ms Jane Ellison, Independent Consultant, Broadcasting & Media

Professor Martyn Evans, Director of Manchester School of Art, Manchester Metropolitan University

Professor Paul Grainge, Professor of Film and Television Studies and Academic Director for Digital Nottingham, University of Nottingham

Professor Genevieve Liveley, Professor of Classics, RISCS Fellow, and Turing Fellow University of Bristol

Ms Maja Maricevic, Head of Higher Education & Science, The British Library

Professor Sandeep Parmar, Poet and Professor of English, University of Liverpool

Professor Jennifer Richards, Director of the Humanities Research Institute and Joseph Cowen Professor of English Literature, Newcastle University

Ms Heather Stewart, Director Emeritus, British Film Institute

Professor Stuart Taberner, Dean for Interdisciplinary Research and Professor of Contemporary German Literature, Thought and Society, University of Leeds